Link zur Unternavigation

Gary Otto gives Huey Lewis a "New Drug."  Joseph Watt brings Elton John's "Crystal" to your floor.

Huey Lewis bummed around Europe in the late 1970s learning to play the harmonica, and formed Huey Lewis And The News in the Bay Area in 1980.  "Sports" is their third album for Chrysalis, and demonstrates the group's wide-ranging abilities as a self-contained writing, producing and performing entity.  Their Top 10 "I Want A New Drug" was written by Huey and guitarist Chris Hayes, and eloquently remixed by John Luongo bringing all of the group's presence and clarity to the forefront.  The commercial 12" vocal and instrumental sides have been given a new dimension by Gary Otto, ace DJ at Laguna Beach's Boom Boom Room who telegraphed the Pointer Sisters love to you a few issues ago.

Elton John is next with "Crystal", the sleeper cut on his 24th album entitled "Too Low For Zero" on Geffen.  The song was written by Elton and Bernie Taupin, who began working together in 1967 and created such classics as "Daniel", "Bennie And The Jets", "Crocodile Rock" and "Goodbye Yellowbrick Road."  The album contains the first John/Taupin collaborations since 1976, and was produced by Chris Thomas.  The song attracted the attention of Joseph Watt, who has made the LP version into a special Disconet version for you on this program.  Joseph majored in music at Chapman College, and began spinning in San Francisco in 1982.  He's been a regular at Trocadero Transfer since early 1983, with guest spots at Studio One, Castro Station and other west coast clubs along the way.

SPECIAL NOTE TO DJs: Side A runs 17:28, from 112 BPM (beats per minute) to 163 BPM.

Two Sisters' "Right There" gets remixed for late night electro sleeze.

Two Sisters are back with a new 12" single from their self-titled Sugarscoop album called "Right There."  Raul A. Rodriguez produced the original tracks which were engineered by Mark Berry, and the remix was done by Raul and Bill Szymczyk.  Bill has discovered and/or produced such pop groups as The James Gang, B.B.King, The Eagles (including "Hotel California") and The Who, and "Right There" was his first venture into the electronic street sounds of some of today's music.  Bill brings a new perspective to the chips (and real percussion fills which Raul has become famous for), and the overall sound is rather unique, perhaps even inspirational enough to encourage other pop/mainstream producers to check out the variety of new sounds which can be produced electronically.

"Right There" was written by Raul, Tessa Marquis (who also co-wrote "High Noon" on the album) and keyboardist Marcus Barone.

We've combined the vocal and "Dub-A-Pella" versions of the commercial 12" release to give you a special Disconet version designed to bring the electronic age into your sleeze sets.  The 90 BPM tempo is disguised by the electronic percussior so it sounds like it's cooking a lot fast er than it really is.

SPECIAL NOTE TO DJs: Side B runs 9:02 at 90 BPM.

Lisa's "Sex Dance" and Carol Jiani's "Touch And Go Lover" get the Disconet treatment to make them scream even more!

Lisa's debut Moby Dick album jumped right out with "Rocket To Your Heart", and in addition to her club classic "Jump Shout", the LP contains quite a bit more great dance material including "Sex Dance."  The song was written and produced by Barry Blum and John Hedges, and Peter Buffet was associate producer.  We took the LP vocal version and some TV tracks as well as dub outtakes to make this special extended Disconet version for you.

Carol Jiani is next with a special extended version of "Touch And Go Lover" from her Telescope/Canada commercial 12" release.  Joe LaGreca and Louis Toteda produced, and co-wrote the song with Don Saunders.  Shep Pettibone did the commercial vocal and instrumental mixes, which bring a nice balance to an energy/dance groove without an overbearing bass drum so that the subtleties of the additional percussion, sax solo and guitars can be more fully heard and appreciated.

SPECIAL NOTE TO DJs: Bonus Side 1 runs 17:31 from 135 BPM to 145 BPM.

Jose "Animal" Diaz produces X-Ray Vision's "Video Connection."  Special extended instrumental of Workforce's "The Plumber."

Jose "Animal" Diaz produced "Salsa Smurph" by Special Request last year, and is back with another electroenergy song called "Video Control" by X-Ray Vision on Manhole Records.  Jose co-wrote the song with Dureen Young, who does the female vocals along with Wendy Yunker.  The male vocals are done by a computer… Jose typed in what was to be spoken, and out they came from a computer.  Jose also spins (at Passion, in Fairview, NJ… formerly Elegante), and has more productions up his sleeve.

Workforce is next with a special extended instrumental version of "The Plumber," from their Matra/Canada 12" single release.  Workforce is a new band from Montreal which consists of a mechanic, a dentist, a psychiatrist and the group's founder (a plumber!), Jose Monast.  Ben Kaye, a renowned record producer and publisher, spotted the group's happy music in a Montreal pub, and co-wrote their debut single with Jose.  Yves Godin was co-producer.  The vocal side gets into a radio-oriented song of dismay with a leaky pipe and the trials and tribulations of getting the plumber to fix it, so the dub side with a funky, happy groove was specially extended for your dance floor.

SPECIAL NOTE TO DJs: Bonus Side 2 runs 15:25 at 127 BPM.

Mike Corcione wins the LCD chronograph. Mike plays at Speaks in Cedarhurst, NY, and the pressing serial number on his Volume 6, Program 8 (#848) matched the lucky winning number for that program.  We've sent Mike the watch that does practically everything, even in the dark.  Mike's favorite selections on Program 8 included the special Disconet versions of "Here Comes The Rain Again" by The Eurythmics, "Let's Stay Together" by Tina Turner, "Twist Of Fate" by Olivia Newton-John and "You're Lookin' Hot Tonight" by Barry Manilow.  To win that watch, be sure to list the serial number shown on the upper right hand corner of your Side A/B pressing jacket.  Good luck!

Copyright © hotdiscomix 2000-2006  | Webmaster | Impressum | XHTML | CSS